Don’t blink! There goes Week 3

Week 3 went by so fast.  This is where crunch time starts for all groups according to our in country manager.  I’m sure you can tell by the publish dates on my blog that I got a little behind.

Train the Trainer session with MMDA

Train the Trainer session with MMDA

One of my deliverables was a workshop on training trainers.  I got this because….. well, I don’t know why I got this.  I hadn’t done it before, but as a people manager and a mentor, I do a lot of informal training.  I had spent a lot of week 2 researching and gathering information.  Week 3 I spent finalizing my presentation (56 pages!) and preparing exercises, demonstrations, surveys while my two teammates began working on their parts of the final client presentation.  You should have seen the look on my client’s face when I asked for rope.  I had to quickly explain that is was for the training session not because of the training session.

Anita introducing me to the class

Anita introducing me to the class

To top it off, I was so badly sunburned on my back from Palawan that I couldn’t wear appropriate clothes until Thursday that week, which meant that I was not going on site.  It made for an interesting week of preparation.

Knot Tying Exercise

Knot Tying Exercise

That Friday we had about 45 people show up from several of the different MMDA departments. We did the rope exercise, a memory demonstration, I used myself as a good and bad example of a trainer, and there was a good amount of laughter and questions.

Everyone seemed to enjoy the knot tying, and they were pretty good at it, too.

Everyone seemed to enjoy the knot tying, and they were pretty good at it, too.

I think the session went well and the survey results showed that everyone liked the material and learned something, so mission accomplished.  It was very nerve racking though right up until I finished the workshop exactly on time.

Teaching best practices for training methodology

Teaching best practices for training methodology

Since our client preview of the final presentation was scheduled the next Monday, there was not any time to enjoy the triumph.

MMDA Traffic Academy Train the Trainer

MMDA Traffic Academy Train the Trainer

#ibmcsc Philippines

One thought on “Don’t blink! There goes Week 3

Leave a comment